The Actuarial Foundation

Home > Programs > Actuarial Education > Actuarial Diversity Scholarship



actuarial diversity scholarship


The Actuarial Diversity Scholarship promotes diversity within the profession through an annual scholarship program for Black/African American, Hispanic, Native North American and Pacific Islander students.

Each applicant must fulfill all the requirements listed below:

  1. Intent on pursuing a career in the actuarial profession
  2. Must have at least one birth parent who is a member of one of the following minority groups: Black/African American, Hispanic, Native North American, Pacific Islander
  3. Will be a full-time undergraduate student at a U.S. accredited educational institution
  4. Minimum GPA of 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale), emphasis on math or actuarial courses       
  5. Entering college freshmen must have a minimum ACT math score of 28 or SAT math score of 600

Actuarial exams will be an important factor in evaluating scholarship qualifications for applicants entering their junior year and beyond. Additionally, exams passed will also be a consideration for previous award recipients applying to renew the scholarship.

Award levels:

$1,000 – high school senior applying for freshman year;

$2,000 – college freshman applying for sophomore year

$3,000 – college sophomore applying for junior year; and

$4,000 – college junior applying for senior year

The award will be divided to cover multiple semesters or other terms comprising the academic year. Recipients attending school for a portion of the upcoming year (e.g., one semester) will receive the corresponding portion of a full year scholarship amount.


Each eligible scholarship applicant, whether or not a scholarship is awarded, may request an actuarial mentor as a personal resource to answer questions about the actuarial field, actuarial exams and to offer assistance in pursuit of a career in the actuarial profession. 

Dates to remember:

Application due date:   5/1/2015          

Scholarship notification date:  8/3/2015



Meet the 2014 Actuarial Diversity Scholarship Recipients


Kenneth Allen Pennsylvania State University
Shelby Allen Illinois State University
Jack Cahn University of Pennsylvania
Jake Casado Florida State University
Marissa Casella University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Amanda Colunga Florida State University
Karina Cuadro Temple University
Marie de Azevedo Massachusetts Institute of Technology
John Delgado University of Texas at Austin
Sophia Ding University of Texas at Austin
Gabriella Faria Fordham University
Juanita Fatola Baruch College
Adrian Fernandez University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
Marc Frederick Florida State University
Jorge Gallegos University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Gregory Gonzalez Drake University
Kristina Henderson Maryville University
Stephanie Lee University of California-Santa Barbara
Ramsey Lowery Howard University
Evelyn Mutagaywa Drake University
Michelle Muzulu Drake University
Brandon Noggle University of California-Santa Barbara
Matthew Ogunlana University of Minnesota
Nathan Ortiz St. John's University
Joel Pettus Butler University
Madison Pfaff The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Anthony Pullano Drake University
Aaron Puntriano Illinois State University
Keric Rolle University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Rudolph Saenz California State University-Fullerton
Jordan Schwartz University of Wisconsin Eau Claire
Nikaya Smith The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Jacquelyn Spears Purdue University
Yves Justin Tiendrebeogo Robert Morris University
Okasate Traore University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Ashley Valdez Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Krystel Walker Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Maygn Wells Howard University
Lindsey Whiting University of North Texas
Helen Williams Florida State University
Jevaughn Williams St. John's University
Alicia Young Harvard University

Click here to see Actuarial Diversity Scholarship recipients from previous years.

History of the Actuarial Diversity Scholarship

The Actuarial Diversity Scholarship was formed in 1977 as a joint effort by the Casualty Actuarial Society and the Society of Actuaries and has opened the door to the actuarial profession for hundreds of minority students. In 2008, this scholarship program was transferred to The Actuarial Foundation to further strengthen, increase and assure the continuation of a diverse, high-quality actuarial candidate pool.


For additional information, contact The Actuarial Foundation at:

The Actuarial Foundation reserves the right to change or discontinue any of the noted scholarship programs at any time and without notice. Award recipients are selected at the sole discretion of the selection committee.

"This prestigious award will make a huge impact on my life. Receiving it motivates me to maintain high academic standards and follow my dream."

-Yves Justin Tiendrebeogo

2014 Actuarial Diversity Scholarship Recipient

Make a Difference!
See to it that deserving students like 2014 recipient  Yves Justin Tiendrebeogo continue to receive this prestigious scholarship.

Make your contribution to support the Actuarial Diversity Scholarship.


Thank You, Sponsors!

The Actuarial Foundation thanks its most generous corporate sponsors for their continued support of the Actuarial Diversity Scholarship. More>